Weblinks:
 

Event List Colour Code:

Circle Meetings

Council Meetings

Lunch Club

Golf

York Circle events

Provincial events

National events

Rex Kirk quiz

 
 

 

York 42 Circle:   Archive of PREVIOUS EVENTS  2003   2004

<<  BACK to Archive Menu

Key: York Circle Events
Key: Province/Other Events

Day

Date

Details of past events

 Old Events  2 0 0 3   (scroll down  or click for   2 0 0 4)
Fri 10 Jan 2003 Pantomine - York Theatre Royal - booking for 35 tickets is to be made (22/8/02)  Have you reserved your ticket?
Tue 14 Jan 2003 7th Joint St Helens(21) + Wigan(16) meeting at St Helens Rugby club.  Buffet 5.  D Bryan.
Mon 20 Jan 2003 Highgate Circle's 100th meeting 33+possible overnight accommodation  D.Bryan
Wed 22 Jan 2003 Proposed visit to Leeds 137
Thu 23 Jan 2003 8pm Meeting +  York host the 1st semi-final of the Rex Kirk Trophy.  (NB our semi final is at Barnsley 10th Feb). Ladies evening.
Sat 25 Jan 2003 City of Leeds - annual dinner and dance at the Cedar Court Hotel, Harrogate.
Mon 27 Jan 2003 Provincial Quarterly Mass at St John's School, Church Street, Boston Spa 7.30pm  B.Vivian
Fri+ 31Jan-2Feb03 Scottish Catenian Weekend at Crieff Hydro.  112 all-inclusive.  J Fletcher
  From Feb 2003 Wetherby Circle venue moves permanently to the Jarvis, Wetherby roundabout.

Leeds 3 meetings are moving to Apperley Manor, Apperley Bridge, but their March meeting will be at the old venue of Hinsley Hall.

Tue 4 Feb 2003 Visit to Minster Archives & Supper @ St Williams College.  20 for 2. Meet 6.45pm for 7pm at Minster Library.  M.Vevers.
Wed 5 Feb 2003 Grimsby 500th Meeting.  Grimsby Golf Club.  7.30pm  Black tie. Overnight accommodation available.
Mon 10 Feb 2003 Our amazing quiz team are in the 2nd semi-final of the Rex Kirk Trophy to be held at Barnsley.
Sat 15 Feb 2003 Charter Dinner:  Vocations Mass at English Martyrs 6pm, followed by Charter Dinner at Beechwood 7.30pm.  suits.  Menu: soup/melon, lamb, sweet, tea/coffee
Sat 22 Feb 2003 Inter Provincial Ball at the Cedar Court Hotel, Wakefield.  Black tie. Joint with 3-South. 7.30 for 8pm  Dancing to 'Inner Vision Due' until 1.00am  (Overnight accommodation & breakfast is available at 58 for 2, 45 for 1, - book direct with the hotel -follow hyperlink above).  Last year was very successful but greater numbers will make it even more successful!  J Notley/B.Vivian
Sun 23 Feb 2003 Winter Walk - meet Thixendale pub 9.45 for 10.00.  (South East of Malton)  Location Map. M.Vevers
Tue 25 Feb 2003 Proposed visit to Halifax
Mon 3 Mar 2003 Bradford 'At home to Province' + Snooker.  Proposed visit
Wed 5 Mar 2003 Grimsby.  Fish + Chip supper  7.30.  Meet 6pm     D.Brian
Mon 10 Mar 2003 Luncheon club - meet St William College  12.45   5 for 2 courses
Mon 10 Mar 2003 Proposed visit to Scarborough
Fri 14 Mar 2003 Golf:  Aldwark Manor - Lunch 12.00   Tee-off  13.28pm  &  13.36pm  All welcome.
Wed 19 Mar 2003 Final  of Rex Kirk Trophy - Scunthorpe.  7.00 supper.  Ladies. Aiming to win 5th Year on the run!
Wed 19 Mar 2003 Wetherby Quarterley Mass at Hazelwood Castle
Tue 25 Mar 2003 Provincial Quarterly Mass at Hull 7.30pm.
Fri+ 28 - 30 Mar 2003 Malvern Weekend: The Fownes Hotel, Worcester, 145pp.  J Fletcher. (30 places)  Non-Catenian friends and Brothers from other Circles welcome.
Sat 29 Mar 2003 Bradford Dinner Dance
Thu 10 Apr 2003 AGM + Installation of Officers + Formal Dinner. (15.50 Soup/Pate/Melon + Steak & Ale pie)
Fri 11 Apr 2003 Lincoln City  25th Anniversary.  Bishop McMahon  25/head dinner.
Wed 16 Apr 2003 Proposed visit to Leeds 137 - last of current year.
Fri 25 Apr 2003 Golf:  Details to follow.  (Further dates to go in next year's programme).
Mon

5 May 2003

Doncaster - Inter Provincial Meeting (Bank holiday) - can you make it - to collect some silverware? Meeting at the Doncaster Catholic Club, Waterdale, Doncaster. Tel: 01302 64695

Thu+

(Sat)

8-11 May 2003

 

10 May 2003

AGM/Annual Conference at Harrogate.  Thu-Sun.  There will be a Carnival Ball.  Details to follow. 8 stewards from York so far - further volunteers welcome - individual tasks to be allocated. Mass will be by ticket only. Evening event also.  D Brian  

Annual Conference Carnival Dinner & Dance hosted by Br J Clarke.  Tickets still available but selling fast 37.50/head.  Overnight accom available. M.Vevers.

Sat 17 May 2003 'Catena Cup' - primary school football competition.  St Aelred's Primary Sch, York  approx 9am-5pm.
Sun 18 May 2003

Visit to Bolton Abbey, Embsay Railway & Skipton Castle -  revised programme for day latest details

Wed 18 Jun 2003 Provincial Quarterly Mass at Leeds 137, Hinsley Hall.  (Location:  www.hinsley-hall.co.uk)
Mon 23 June 2003 Proposed visit:  Wetherby
Tue 24 Jun 2003 Proposed visit:  Halifax.  Lounge suits.  Dinner 10pp.  Weavers Club, Halifax.
Sat 28 Jun 2003 Summer Ball 2003.  York Racecourse 'Voltigeur' suite 7pm for 7.30pm, finish Midnight. Live 3-piece band, 26.  York Bros - don't forget a Raffle Prize - if you are unable to go yourself please pass it to someone who is going!
    'Universe' Paper now features a Catenian Column.  Contributions welcome.
Sun 6 July 2003 President's Sunday - Mass @ St Aelred's 9.30am  +  Coffee> Beningbrough (Wetherby Silver Band in attendance) + Picnic(optional) > Social evening at  St Aelred's Hall - 7.30 for 8.00pm.  Names to Br Pres.
Sat 19 July 2003 Barbeque at Barmby Moor and visit to Barmby Feast.  Bring your own drinks/glasses/chairs.  An extremely popular annual event.  Children welcome.  7pm onwards Names to JF asap.
Sat 12 Jul 2003 Provincial Family Day at Bolton Abbey, Wharfedale. Picnic.  Meet at Cavendish Pavilion 3.00pm  Mass in the Abbey Church 6.00pm.  Possible meal afterwards at a local hostelry.  This is a great opportunity for the Catholic Community to get together - will you be there?  Names to Br Sec.
Tue 15 July 2003 Proposed visit Huddersfield
Wed 16 July 2003 Scunthorpe Circle: Casino evening. 12.50. (proposed visit)
    Pantomine (Fri 9th January 2004)  - to pay at August meeting (price to be determined).  Also  Chester weekend deposit of 10 per person needs to be paid at this meeting.
Mon 4 Aug 2003 Proposed visit:  Bradford
Tue 12 Aug 2003 Proposed visit: Harrogate for 7.30pm. (Saying farewells to USA Priest)
Thu 14 Aug 2003 Wetherby Quarterly Mass at Hazelwood Castle.  7.30pm.  Proposed supper at 'The Buckles Inn' at Bilbrough on  A64 afterwards.  (Will count as 'Vigil Mass' for 'The Assumption' - 15th Aug)
Tue 26 Aug 2003 Proposed visit: Hull for 7.30pm  Marina Hotel.
Fri 9 Sep 2003 New North London Circle inaugural meeting.  Dinner Dance at Alexander Palace. 35.  Formal.  Accommodation available.  Names to Br Pres.
Sun 14 Sep 2003 Open invitation to Catenian Pilgrimage to Walsingham - featured in Catena May 2003.  Names to Br President. Mass 1.30pm in the Chapel of Reconcilliation, Procession to village, Benediction in the gardens.
Sat 20 Sep 2003 Hull Circle's  'Big Band Night' at Hull University
Mon 22 Sep 2003 Wetherby Circle Meeting 8pm followed by talk "Hidden Treasures of York Minster" by Louise Hampson (Collections Manager).  Supper.  Definitely one for the diary.  Ladies.
Wed 24 Sep 2003 Visit to Temple Newsham - Wetherby + York Circles.  Tour starts at 6.30pm - lead by James Lomax (Curator)  5/head.  A rare opportunity not to be missed.  Location  15 going from York.
Fri 26 Sep 2003 York Philharmonic Male Voice Choir (several Brothers are members) Concert for 3rd World at St Margaret Clitherow Haxby 7.30pm  Tickets 5  Br Gerard
Fri-Sun 26-28 Sep 2003 Provincial Weekend at Chadwick Hotel, Lytham St Annes.  Two nights DB&B for 94.00pp  Names to BV please.  (Prov Pres D Barker requires deposit of 20 per room asap please to reserve your place!
Mon 13 Oct 2003 The Great Barnsley Chop Night - names to Br Sec
Sun 19 Oct 2003 Visit to "The Deep" at Hull (by car).  Meet 12.45pm for 1pm at venue. Seniors 4.00, adults 6.00. Payment has been made in advance.  19 going as at 2 Oct 03
     
Mon 20 Oct 2003 Provincial Quarterly Mass.  Leeds 3.  Apperley Manor Hotel.
Fri/Sat 24/25 Oct 2003 Wimbledon 1000th.
Sat-Sat 8-15 Nov 2003 Malta Week.  (details from Br Secretary)  Click on link to visit Malta Week website
Mon 10 Nov 2003 Proposed visit:  Scarborough meeting - dinner afterwards at between 7.50 and 12.50 depending on number of courses taken - numbers to Br Tony.
Thu 13 Nov 2003 Proposed visit to Wakefield
Sun 23 Nov 2003 Ten pin bowling.  4.75 per adult, 3.75 per child. Starting 3.45pm for 4.00pm.  Tea at Beechwood follows.  23 adults + 2 children attending.
Tue 25 Nov 2003 Proposed visit to Halifax
Wed 26 Nov 2003 40th Anniversary Meeting & Dinner.  Broughton-in-Craven.
Mon 1 Dec 2003 Proposed visit to Doncaster
Sat 6 Dec 2003 Huddersfield Dinner Dance -- need to check date?
Fri 12 Dec 2003 Carols and Readings at York Minster
 Old Events  2 0 0 4   (Back to top)
Mon 12 Jan 2004 Barnsley 500th Meeting
Tue 13 Jan 2004 Provincial Quarterly Mass at Harrogate
Mon 26 Jan 2004 Proposed visit to Wetherby - venue :Jarvis Hotel
Fri+ 30Jan-1Feb04 Scottish Catenian Weekend at Crieff Hydro.  Good golfing!
Wed 4 Feb 2004 St Helens' 1000th Meeting at Haydock Park Racecourse  mapM6-J23  website
Thur 5 Feb 2004 Social Diary Meeting at the Beechwod + Ladies.  8pm  Buffet  4.00/head.  All Brothers welcome.
Wed 18 Feb 2004 Proposed visit to Leeds 137
Wed 18 Feb 2004 Wetherby entertainment: John Morgan MBE + John Wallis & Treble Clef - evening  at St Joseph's Hall 7.30pm  in aid of St Gemma's Hospice.  5 each.
Sat 21 Feb 2004 Joint Inter Provincial (Province 3 N & 3S) Ball - Cedar Court Hotel, Wakefield. 26.00 Overnight accommodation available at 60 per room/couple for B+B (Tel 01924 261268).  Black Tie.  Dancing to 'Inner vision'.  (Junction 39 M1).  Minimum tables of 10 are requested from each circle.
Tue-Fri 24-26Feb 2004 Join Bradford Circle for a Majorcan Experience (Full details from Br Sec) 290 per person
Tue 24 Feb 2004 Proposed visit to Hull + Fun Quiz
Sat 28 Feb 2004 York Charter Dinner. Beechwood. Ladies. Lounge suits.  7 for 7.30pm Menu: Soup/Goujons of Plaice + Supreme of Chicken Chasseur + Sweet trolley.
Mon 1 Mar 2004 Proposed visit to Bradford
Wed 3 Mar 2004 Proposed visit to Grimsby - Fish + Chip Night
Mon 8 Mar 2004 Barnsley Draughts Competition.  Wath - St Joseph's Hall.
Mon 15 Mar 2004 Proposed visit to Leeds 3
Tue 16 Mar 2004 Huddersfield 600th Meeting - to be held at Berties Banqueting Rooms (Elland) (Renowned for good food!) map   Register 6.30pm  Meeting 7pm  + Ladies. Formal.27pp
Wed 17 Mar 2004 Rex Kirk Trophy Final - Scunthorpe - all support needed - despite no York team! 7.45pm
Thu 18 Mar 2004 Proposed visit: Wharfedale (Irish Evening Meeting 7.15 for 7.30, Meal 8.15)
Mon 22 Mar Wetherby Circle: 'Ask the Questions' Quiz night. + Ladies. Jarvis Hotel 8pm
     
     
     
     
     

Page updated: 09/02/20

Home